Meet the Writer

I’m going to take a break from discussing my research and tell you a little bit about myself.

My name is Monica Berra, and I am a senior telecommunication student at the University of Florida. My passion is to tell stories, specifically those that impart empathy and understanding among people of different backgrounds.

UF has given me invaluable opportunities to hone my storytelling skills–through live newscasts, special reports such as my recent election coverage on WUFT-TV, and in documentary filmmaking through the Digital Worlds Institute. I have covered everything from the lack of minority teachers in Alachua County, to how to shop for that perfect Christmas tree. Despite the fact that I loved reporting, anchoring, and just hanging out in the newsroom at WUFT, I am ready to pursue my passion for longer-form storytelling. Currently, I am applying to various programs to get a Master’s in Fine Arts degree in documentary production. My dream is to be a field producer or story producer for an agency like National Geographic, or even better, my own production company.

As for now, I’m just working on getting those final credits in order for me to graduate on time this Spring! And working on my thesis about Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings and the Florida Crackers. How time has flown. Marjorie is getting me through it. Writing a thesis is hard, but loving the subject makes it a whole lot easier. Feel free to check out the rest of my blog!

Leave a Reply

